God’s Intervention

I am concerned about the popular thought in Christianity that God will not allow us to destroy the planet. I feel like a lot of my fellow Christians have been indoctrinated to hate science. Since over the years science has been used to try to disprove the existence of God, science is the enemy. I believe I am in a rare position as I have not been indoctrinated to believe in God and I have not been indoctrinated to believe in or hate science.

As I’ve explained on the about page regarding my background and faith, I didn’t grow up in a Christian household. I came to know God on my own, because of a few small introductions to the concept of God, Jesus, and the Lord’s prayer. I didn’t have anyone in my life encouraging me to be Christian. I’ve never been pressured to believe any particular way religiously. I’ve also never been pressured to like or hate science and scientific principles.

Being a computer programmer, many things I do and think involve the scientific process.

2013-updated_scientific-method-steps_v6_noheader

Now, my job doesn’t use this exactly, but only because I’m not starting with a question. My work starts with a problem that needs a solution. Generally, when presented with a problem, I start with research to fully understand the problem and what options I have. I then design a solution, start writing code, test the application and start the process entirely over again. Software design is an iterative process, it requires constant testing, evaluating, redesigning, and redevelopment in order to meet the requirements to solve the problem. It is a loop, similar to the one in the above image on the scientific method where it asks if the procedure is working.

Science and Scientists are not the problem. There are people out there that try to use science to harm Christians and the Christian faith. Those people have always existed, and they don’t need science to attack us. Science is a tool they use, but that doesn’t mean science is wrong or bad. Is a screwdriver bad when it is used to hammer a nail into a piece of wood? or is it just the wrong tool for that job? The screwdriver still works as intended regardless of how a person uses it, unless of course they break it.

Right now there is an irrational denial of Global Warming. It is being suggested that global warming is false, or natural occurring. I’ve heard Christians say it can’t be real because God would never allow us to harm the planet.

So, is this true? Will God intervene to prevent us from harming something he created?

The Lord said, “I have indeed seen the misery of my people in Egypt. I have heard them crying out because of their slave drivers, and I am concerned about their suffering. So I have come down to rescue them from the hand of the Egyptians and to bring them up out of that land into a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey—the home of the Canaanites, Hittites, Amorites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. And now the cry of the Israelites has reached me, and I have seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them. So now, go. I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt.”
(Exodus 3: 7-10)

Here, God decides to intervene, but he doesn’t do it himself. God calls on a man to do what needs to be done. Along the way as Moses carried out his mission, God did provide people with proof he was working on behalf of God.

There were many stories in the old testament where God struck people down for going against what he commanded. He destroyed whole cities, even went as far as destroying almost all living things on the earth. However, he promised never to intervene in this way again:

The Lord smelled the pleasing aroma and said in his heart: “Never again will I curse the ground because of humans, even though every inclination of the human heart is evil from childhood. And never again will I destroy all living creatures, as I have done.
(Genesis 8:21)

In the new testament it was clear what God’s plan was. God intended to work through us to achieve what he wants. I’m not saying God won’t intervene in our lives when we need it, but if he was going to save us from natural disasters, don’t you think he would have done so by now? How many good Christian men and women have died in tornadoes, earthquakes, hurricanes, floods, and tidal waves? How many good Christians die every day of something he could’ve prevented? How many of those who followed Jesus died because of that faith? Would God not save his disciples if he intended to interfere? Would Jesus not feed every single hungry child on this planet if his intent was to intervene?

So Christ himself gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors and teachers, to equip his people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.
(Ephesians 4:11-13)

If Jesus was going to intervene, we wouldn’t be known as the body of Christ. Jesus wouldn’t have died for us, he would be out here teaching us still. If God was going to intervene, he wouldn’t have sent Jesus to die on the cross so we could live.

We are God’s intervention.

We must stop bad things from happening or comfort those who have bad things happen to them. We can’t expect God to fix things we break because of political or financial decisions. If we break the planet, his followers will live forever, but those who chose politics over saving their neighbor will not.

I fear that my kids will have to live in fear of natural disasters of a magnitude man hasn’t seen since the great flood and it will be because of our inaction and inappropriate hatred for science. I know God will get us through whatever is coming, but we all could make things a lot easier on each other if we stopped seeing science as the enemy.

One thought on “God’s Intervention

  1. The Bible says God will destroy those who are destroying the earth. It also says the earth will wear out like a garment. Personally, I believe the 7 last plagues in Revelation are mostly from global warming.

    I think it is far too late to save the world. I feel fear for my children and grandchildren about what is coming, but I put my trust in God. I pray I will accept whatever comes and I pray we will all be together in heaven one day. I find hope and peace in God, as I know you do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

